Zero to 5K in Six Weeks! Vemma Rocks!


Zero to 5K in Six Weeks! VEMMA® Rocks!

Today I ran a total of 3.25 miles on the strand from the Redondo Beach Pier to Torrance Beach and back with one 1/4 mile walk break at the turnaround.

I started running again on Friday July 15th after taking five and a half months to recover from a bad gout attack. In only six weeks I’m back on track. I give full credit to Vemma, the liquid vitamin and antioxidant that I started taking back in May this year (2011).  Vemma stands for Vitamins, Essential Minerals, Mangosteen and Aloe.

When I first started running I used the C25K (couch to 5K) program from coolrunning.com.  C25K is a structured interval training program designed to bring a complete newbie up to speed and ready to run a 5K in just nine weeks.

After getting myself off the couch and out on the road the first time, it took me nineteen weeks to get up to 5K (3.1 miles). Along the way I was sidelined for two weeks by a cold, a week or so by shin splints and a few weeks in physical therapy for other aches and pains. I guess I wasn’t your typical newbie.  I was overweight, 54 years old and totally out of shape.

My usual time to run is for about an hour in the morning, between 6:00 to 8:00 AM, three times a week. I allow one day for rest and recovery in between runs.  Last year I would start to feel stiff and sore in the hips and legs about 10:00 AM on run days.  I experienced a lot of aches and pains, but kept going in faith that I would get better.

When I started up again in July I expected to have the same stiffness by 10:00 or 11:00 AM on run days but it never happened.  I progressed quickly as I pushed myself through longer intervals, using the 1/4 mile markers on the bike-path as a guide.  I haven’t done anything new this time around except for taking a daily dose of Vemma.

I’ve been taking two oz. of the standard Vemma formula every morning since May.  I have tried some of their other products as well.  Verve! is the Vemma energy drink, The Verve! Shot is a concentrated, insanely healthy energy shot that provides a real boost to your workout. My best run in the whole six weeks was the morning I tried a Verve! Shot before going for my run.

Vemma THIRST is a powdered hydration formula that includes all the basic Vemma formula plus electrolytes and amino acids to assist recovery after a workout.

What keeps you going during your workout?

Leave a Reply

