How I Started to Love Reading


I’m a bookworm and a library troll.  I struggled with reading until the third grade.  Mom got a job at the Hadley Branch of the Denver Public Library.

A recent visit back to Denver

She worked the circulation counter and let my brother and I loose in the children’s section.  My older sister was probably at her flute lessons.

My brother and I, being typical kids, played hide and seek in the stacks, pretending to be Cowboys and Indians or swashbuckling pirates.  We drove the children’s librarian nuts. But she put up with us.  She was Mom’s best friend, Melissa Gilbert.

She took it upon herself to try to get us to settle down and read some books.  I don’t recall what she did with my brother, but she started me out on the simplest of Dr. Seuss books, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish (I Can Read It All by Myself Beginner Books)

She had a good grasp of my reading level and kept feeding me more and more challenging books. After she walked me through more I Can Read It All by Myself Beginner Books like Hop on Pop and Go, Dog. Go!.  I especially liked Go, Dog. Go!.


After reading all of the I Can Read It All by Myself Beginner Books I started on more challenging things like The Cat in the Hat and Horton Hears a Who!.

I remember being so proud that I could read these whole books all by myself.  I guess I Can Read It All by Myself is an effective tag line for motivating young readers.

Once I discovered how much fun books could be I was hooked.  Hooked for life.  After reading all the Dr. Seuss books over and over I was ready to move on to other things.  I discovered a whole wall full of orange books, biographies of famous people written for kids.  I devoured the whole wall.  I read George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Paul Revere, Daniel Boone, Davy Crockett, Jim Bowie, The Wright Brothers, then Clara Barton Marie Curie and many others.

Ever since then I have been hooked on books and in love with libraries.  My passion is sharing my love of books, literature, and lifelong learning.  I hope I can pass along that passion here on my blog.

Curtis Martin
Vemma: Liquid Nutrition – Vitamins, Essential Minerals, Mangosteen & Aloe
http://CurtandSanae.Vemma.com
http://www.powells.com/partners/banners/banner2.html?36118

Barnes&Noble.com

One thought on “How I Started to Love Reading

  1. This is an entertaining weblog, Curtis. As for me, I read far less than now than when I was younger. I consumed many books as a kid, but now lack the time and/or discipline to get all the way through a book. Of course, now I read lots of online information as well as printed periodicals.

    For several of our kids’ birthday parties when they were younger, we’d have a reading contest. Whoever could read one of the Dr. Seuss books the quickest with the fewest slipups was the winner!

Leave a Reply

